Update to FacesGoodies

I updated the SVN version of FacesGoodies. The major change was, that I removed the Apache Shale framework and I added the new Apache MyFaces Orchestra framework. Now I am strongly following the pattern of defining the “JSF beans” only inside of the Spring 2.0 configuration file.

Why? Spring offers a lot of cool support to your application and since Spring 2 introduced (web) scopes, like session or request, you can easily declare these beans inside of the Spring configuration file. The good old faces-config is (in FacesGoodies) only used to specify the Trinidad RenderKit, the Spring VariableResolver and the Navigation rules of the demo application.

I also added some demonstration of the Ajax-APIs of Apache Trinidad (client-side and server-side).

Ah, yes… FacesGoodies is back on JSF 1.1, using MyFaces 1.1.5 and Trinidad 1.0.3 !

Have fun and enjoy the Orchestra test drive!

Howdy!

Posted in apache, jsf, myfaces, trinidad, web²
4 comments on “Update to FacesGoodies
  1. Bjorn says:

    Hi. Thanks for a great blog! I’ve taken the latest FacesGoodies from SVN, but I get a build failure. The following artifact can’t be found:

    org.apache.myfaces.orchestra:myfaces-orchestra-core:jar:1.1-SNAPSHOT

    Which maven repo do you use? I can only seem to find the 1.0 version. Thanks!

  2. matthiaswessendorf says:

    Hi,

    unfortunately our (myfaces) nbuild deployment is down😦

    The sad truth is, that you need to run the Orchestra build for core and core15 on your own, to get the JARs …

    We are looking into this.

  3. jonas says:

    Hi,

    I only can edit one user, because when I try to edit a second user no new ConversationContext startet and the current ConversationContext have already one user object set.

    I tried to add a SeparateConversationContext Tag to open the edit pages in a new ConversationContext, but it didn’t worked.
    Can you add a demonstration of the Orchestra SeparateConversationContext Tag to your FacesGoodies or is there any conflict with Trinidad?

    Thanks.

  4. matthiaswessendorf says:

    I don’t think it is a good practise to use tags for that. Using tags means, you put too much non-view information into the view.

    I haven’t updated the demo to my latest changes, which require Trinidad 104 and 1.1-SNAPSHOT of Orchestra Core

Leave a Reply

