Thunderbird vs. Gmail (Desktop vs. Web)

I am using Gmail for all of my (Apache) mailing lists, my private stuff, and sometimes I write emails to team-mates via my private Gmail account.
For 99% of my corp. emails, I am using Thunderbird, which is a FAT CLIENT.

I like using the Web-based email, but sometimes, the traffic is slow (depends on your connection, sure) and than… switching folders or searching can be a PITA. That is not the case in Thunderbird. That FAT CLIENT is working offline too.

Now there are “persistence frameworks”, such as Google Gears, which offer your a great deal to run your web-app offline.

But even with that, sometimes it just feels better to use a FAT CLIENT, IMO.

Using Web-Mail is common; word-processing or spreatsheets are new, but they are more and more used, in an online version.

All this is OK, the move is from the desktop to the WEB. Fine so far, but I’d never want to use my IDE (JDeveloper and Eclipse) via a Web-Browser🙂
That would be just too much. I hope that this isn’t the next trend🙂

Howdy!

Posted in lifestyle, web²
5 comments on “Thunderbird vs. Gmail (Desktop vs. Web)
  1. Gary says:

    I Use GMAIL with Thunderbird. If I’m at home, I’ll do my emails with Thunderbird. I’m I’m at work, I’ll use the web-interface.
    All the Gmail emails get picked up by Thunderbird.

    My work means I am almost entirely at client sites, so my company email has to be through a web interface, but in this case it is Microsoft Exchange Server.

  2. Ever since Gmail 2.0, Thunderbird has been more sluggish for me than Gmail. I can navigate messages faster in Gmail, and for search, it is no question. I have been using Thunderbird for years, and am giving these guys every chance (for instance, I am running nightlies), but I can’t see Thunderbird lasting much longer on my machines. Not to mention that I am so done running my own mail server and keeping up with the latest anti-spam measures.

    It is fun for a couple years, but enough is enough, and frankly I have better things to do.

  3. Emir says:

    Oracle’s Application express (APEX) is web based🙂

    and it’s pretty powerful🙂

  4. Sije Harkema says:

    I use thunderbird to download and send messages for hotmail and gmail from my home computer, just awesome, but when I’m somewhere else (e.g. school) I use the web interface.

  5. Smart Boy says:

    As of now I use Thunderbird, but I’m always open to the possibility of solely using Gmail. Thanks for the information.

Leave a Reply

